Amazon SP-API development companies (2026): who builds what, and how to choose

Companies that describe Amazon SP-API work on their own websites include Aroopa, Deltologic, Ecomsellertool (which wrote this page), eSellerHub and Pell Software. Choose by job, not by list position: a private app for your own account, a public Appstore app, a reporting pipeline, order and inventory sync, or ads plus SP-API. Then check registration, Data Protection Policy readiness, ownership, roles and token handling.
- This page lists five SP-API development companies in alphabetical order, without a ranking; Ecomsellertool wrote it and is one of the five.
- A private SP-API application is self-authorized by the account's Primary User and allows a maximum of 10 self-authorizations (checked October 9, 2026).
- Public applications need Amazon's approval to be listed in the Selling Partner Appstore, and sellers must reauthorize a public application every 365 days (checked October 9, 2026).
- Amazon's Data Protection Policy says PII may be kept no longer than 30 days after order delivery and must be encrypted at rest (checked October 9, 2026).
- LWA client secrets must be rotated every 180 days; after the deadline, the application's SP-API calls return an error (checked October 9, 2026).
- The Amazon Ads API has its own application and approval process, separate from SP-API (checked October 9, 2026).
Disclosure: Ecomsellertool wrote this page, and we are one of the five companies on it. The list is in alphabetical order, not ranked. Every fact about another company comes from that company's own website, checked on October 9, 2026, in its own words where possible. We left out firms whose own site did not show SP-API work or did not appear current. Use the job table and the checklist on our proposal too.
Most lists of SP-API developers start with names. This one starts with your job, because a team that ships excellent reporting pipelines may never have taken a public app through Appstore review. If you are hiring an individual rather than a company, our guide to hiring an SP-API developer covers skills, interview questions and red flags. For budgets, see what SP-API development costs.
Which kind of SP-API partner fits your job?
The Selling Partner API serves very different projects. Amazon's developer onboarding overview (checked October 9, 2026) splits applications into private ones, "for exclusive use by a single organization", and public ones, which need Amazon's approval to be listed in the Selling Partner Appstore. Name your job first, then look for a developer who has shipped that job before.
| Your job | What Amazon's rules add | What to look for | Questions to ask |
|---|---|---|---|
| A private app for your own seller account | Only the Primary User can self-authorize it, and Amazon's authorization limits allow a maximum of 10 self-authorizations (checked October 9, 2026) | The app registered in your company's own account; roles limited to what the app reads and writes | "Whose developer account will the app sit in?" "What happens if we add brands and pass 10 accounts?" |
| A public app for the Selling Partner Appstore | Listing needs Amazon's approval; an unlisted public app allows 25 OAuth authorizations, and sellers reauthorize every 365 days and whenever a role is added (checked October 9, 2026) | A public app they have taken through review; an OAuth flow that survives reauthorization | "Which public app have you listed?" "How do you handle reauthorization without losing sellers?" |
| A data pipeline and reporting | Each report or operation needs the matching role, such as Finance and Accounting or Brand Analytics (checked October 9, 2026) | Warehouses and dashboards they have run for a year or more, with backfills and failed-report handling | "How do you rebuild a month of data after an outage?" "Where does the data live, and who pays for it?" |
| Order and inventory sync | The Notifications API delivers events through Amazon SQS or EventBridge; buyer data needs a Restricted Data Token for restricted operations such as getOrders (checked October 9, 2026) | Event-driven sync with a backup pull; a plan for buyer names and addresses | "Which events start a sync, and what catches a missed one?" "Do you need buyer PII at all?" |
| Ads plus SP-API together | The Amazon Ads API "requires an application and approval process before access is granted", separate from SP-API (checked October 9, 2026) | Projects that joined ad spend with orders, fees and stock | "Have you shipped both APIs in one product?" "Who applies for Ads API access, you or us?" |
If your job spans two rows, ask for an example of each. A glossary entry on the Amazon Ads API explains how the two APIs divide the data.
What should you check before you sign an SP-API vendor?
Five checks cover most of the risk. They come from Amazon's own rules, so they apply to every company on this page, including us. Amazon's policies and agreements page (checked October 9, 2026) lists the Data Protection Policy, the Acceptable Use Policy and the Solution Provider Portal Agreement that every SP-API developer accepts.
- Developer registration. Who registers the developer profile, in which company's name, and who holds the Solution Provider Portal login. For a private app built for you, the answer should be your company.
- Data Protection Policy readiness. The Data Protection Policy (checked October 9, 2026) requires PII to be kept no longer than 30 days after order delivery, encrypted at rest and in transit (TLS 1.2 or higher), MFA on all user accounts, and notice to Amazon within 24 hours of a security incident. Ask how the vendor meets each point.
- Who owns the code and the app registration. The repository, the hosting account and the app registration in your company's name, written into the contract. If any part is licensed rather than handed over, the proposal should say which part.
- Roles requested. Only the roles each feature needs. Restricted roles, such as Direct-to-Consumer Shipping, ask for extra detail about data use and security controls, so skip them unless a feature truly needs buyer data.
- Token handling. Refresh tokens and client secrets stored in a secrets manager, never in code or a spreadsheet. LWA client secrets must be rotated every 180 days (checked October 9, 2026), with a notice 90 days ahead; ask who receives that notice and who rotates the secret.
Access for people is a separate question from access for software. Our guide on giving an agency access to Seller Central safely covers user permissions and service provider authorizations.
Which companies build on Amazon SP-API in 2026?
Five companies, in alphabetical order. Each row uses that company's own website, linked and dated. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the pages we checked, not that the company does not offer it.
| Company | Where its site says it is based | What it says it builds on SP-API | How it says work starts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aroopa | Monroe Township, New Jersey, US, and Chennai, India, per its SP-API developers page (checked October 9, 2026) | "bespoke OMS, ERP systems, sales and inventory projections, and shipping modules using SP-API" | Contact its in-house specialists, who match you with an expert; pricing model not stated |
| Deltologic | Poznań, Poland, with an office in Berlin, Germany, per its website (checked October 9, 2026) | "Custom software and AI automations for companies selling on online marketplaces"; SP-API pages on fee optimization, audit support, PII access and MWS to SP-API migration (checked October 9, 2026); its site also links to an SP-API course | A contact form; its migration page describes analysis, optimization, expansion and support |
| Ecomsellertool | Fremont, California, US, and Ahmedabad, India | Custom SP-API and Ads API software and integrations on the brand's own accounts; building on Amazon's seller APIs since 2017 | A project brief, answered with a written plan, timeline and fixed price |
| eSellerHub | Fremont, California, US, and Ilford, UK, per the footer of its SP-API development page (checked October 9, 2026); a division of TOPS Infosolutions | Order, inventory, warehouse and listing management tools, dashboards and reports; integrations with other marketplaces, carriers and QuickBooks | A 30-minute call or contact form; its FAQ says you "select a suitable hiring model"; support and training after development |
| Pell Software | Denver, Colorado, US, "a 100% US based company", per its website (checked October 9, 2026) | Custom business software and API and data integrations, including "data solutions for Amazon"; one undated SP-API article (checked October 9, 2026) describes "some of the SP-API integrations we've developed" using the Orders and Product Pricing APIs | A free 30-minute call with "a US-based software expert, not a salesperson" |
Read the table as a starting point for your own calls. A company's own page tells you what it offers, not how it performed for a business like yours. Ask each one for a shipped example of your job type from the first table, and a reference whose app has been live for at least six months.
How do you compare SP-API development companies fairly?
Send the same short brief to two or three of them. Describe one job in a few lines: the marketplaces, the data you need, whether buyer details are involved, volumes, and where the result should end up. Ask each company to answer the five checklist points in writing. The answers show more than a portfolio page, because they show how the team thinks about your account and your data. To turn the written answers into a score, use the ten-point scorecard in our guide on how to choose an ecommerce automation partner.
Pick the specialist that matches your situation. A team based in your time zone may matter more than anything else if you want weekly working sessions. A team that teaches SP-API, such as one that runs a course, may suit an in-house developer who wants guidance rather than a full build. For a public app, ask each company which Appstore listing it has taken through review. A firm that also builds non-Amazon systems may fit when SP-API is one part of a larger ERP project.
Who helps, and what does a first project look like?
Ecomsellertool builds custom SP-API and Ads API software on a brand's own accounts. For SellerDrive, we combined SP-API order, finance and catalog data with Amazon Advertising API metrics and Brand Analytics sessions, and built a fee calculation engine for fees Amazon does not report. Send one integration through our SP-API project brief for a written plan with a fixed price.
Smaller jobs follow the same pattern. For AccountDr, we built rule-based automation that sends listing-fault, stranded-inventory and hijacker notifications. If your workflow is wider than Amazon, for example orders that also pass through Shopify, a 3PL and your accounting system, the workflow automation service takes the same brief at its project brief form. You keep your accounts, your data and the custom code we build; the Growth OS base is licensed to you.
Many brands do not need a new build at all. Growth OS is our base system for listings, replenishment, orders, advertising and reporting, deployed on your own accounts, with custom SP-API modules added only where your operation needs them. The ops gaps library shows the problems it is built to close, and the compare hub sets Growth OS against agencies, SaaS stacks and an in-house team.
Where should you start?
Start with the job table. Write down which row your project sits in, then the answers you want to the questions in that row. If you plan to register your own app first, read how to register for Amazon SP-API. If you are building part of it with an AI coding assistant, read what breaks when you build Amazon seller tools with AI before the code meets production data.
Then send the same brief to the companies that match your job, ours included, and compare the written answers side by side. The Amazon SP-API development page describes how we scope, build and hand over an integration.
Frequently asked questions
What are the best Amazon SP-API development companies?
There is no neutral ranking, and this page does not give one, because we build SP-API software ourselves. Companies that describe SP-API work on their own sites include Aroopa, Deltologic, Ecomsellertool, eSellerHub and Pell Software. The better question is which one has shipped your kind of job: a private app, a public Appstore app, a reporting pipeline, order and inventory sync, or ads plus SP-API.
Should my SP-API app be private or public?
Private, if only your own company will use it. A private app is self-authorized by your account's Primary User, needs no Appstore listing and allows up to 10 self-authorizations. Public, if other sellers will authorize it, for example a tool you plan to sell or an agency platform for many clients. Public apps need Amazon's approval to be listed in the Selling Partner Appstore and are reauthorized every 365 days.
Who should own the SP-API developer registration and the app?
For a private app built for your business, the developer profile and the application should sit in your company's own Solution Provider Portal account, and the code repository and hosting should be in your company's name. If a developer registers the app under their own account, you depend on them for every credential change. Settle this in writing before work starts.
Do I need the Amazon Ads API as well as SP-API?
Only if the tool reads or changes advertising data. Campaigns, bids and ad reports come from the Amazon Ads API, which has its own application and approval process. A project that joins ad spend with orders, fees and stock needs access to both, so ask the developer whether they have shipped both before.
What should an SP-API developer ask me before quoting?
Which marketplaces and regions you sell in, whether the app is private or public, which data each step needs (orders, stock, listings, reports, finance), whether buyer names or addresses are involved, your order and SKU volumes, where the data should end up, and who will run the app after launch. A quote given without those answers is a guess.
How much does SP-API development cost?
It depends on the number of APIs and marketplaces, whether buyer data is involved, whether the app is public and how much reporting is built on top. None of the companies on this page publish a fixed price list on the pages we checked. Our SP-API development cost guide explains the main cost drivers, and every project we take on starts with a written plan and a fixed price.
How we research, fact-check and compare: our editorial standards. Spot an error? Email hello@ecomsellertool.com and we will correct it.
