Amazon Seller Assistant, SaaS AI agents or custom agents: which fits your brand?
Updated · By Ecomsellertool editorial team
Amazon's Seller Assistant suits brands selling mainly on Amazon from FBA: Amazon has offered it at no additional cost, it works on your Amazon data, and its workflows act only on changes you approve. SaaS agents such as Jarvio or Helium Agent add a vendor's tools and data for a monthly fee. A custom agent applies your rules across Amazon, other channels, your 3PL and ERP, on your own accounts.
- Amazon announced Seller Assistant workflows and a Selling Partner plugin for Amazon Quick and Claude on September 23, 2026, and says the plugin is in beta for sellers in its US stores.
- Amazon says sellers review and approve workflow actions before they are carried out, and Helium 10 and Pacvue describe approval steps too, so approval alone does not tell the options apart.
- Seller Assistant costs US sellers nothing extra (Amazon, 2025). Primary account holders can claim 12 months of Quick Plus free through December 31, 2026; Amazon has not said what happens after the free year.
- Jarvio's Growth plan is $149 per brand a month. Helium 10 includes Helium Agent in Diamond, at $359 a month or $279 a month billed yearly (both checked September 25, 2026).
- Custom agents from Ecomsellertool run on your own accounts with your rules. You keep your accounts, your data and the custom code we build; the Growth OS base is licensed to you.
Fit table: Amazon Seller Assistant, SaaS AI agents and custom agents (vendor facts checked September 25, 2026)
| Dimension | Amazon Seller Assistant | SaaS AI agents | Custom agents on your accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Amazon's AI assistant in Seller Central, with workflows that monitor and act on routine tasks, plus a Selling Partner plugin for Amazon Quick and Claude (announced September 23, 2026; beta, US stores) | An agent inside a vendor's subscription, such as Helium Agent in Helium 10, Jarvio or Pacvue Agent, or an MCP server that feeds a vendor's data to your AI assistant, such as Intentwise AI Gateway | Agents built for one brand's operation on top of Ecomsellertool Growth OS and deployed on the brand's own seller, ad and marketplace accounts |
| Data it reaches | Your Amazon data: listings, performance metrics, inventory and sales. In Quick or Claude, other connectors you add sit alongside it | Whatever the vendor syncs or connects. Jarvio's Growth plan lists 40+ Amazon reports synced daily; Intentwise lists Amazon, Walmart, Criteo, Instacart and several ad platforms | Every system you authorize through its official API: marketplaces, ad accounts, your 3PL or warehouse, your ERP and supplier data |
| Channels | Amazon; the plugin is in beta for Amazon's US stores. Seller Central's new multichannel tools connect eBay, Shopify, TikTok and Walmart (rolling out gradually, US); Amazon has not said Seller Assistant workflows act on that data | Set by each vendor. Helium 10 sells tools for Amazon, Walmart and TikTok Shop; Jarvio describes itself for Amazon; Pacvue Agent launched for Amazon Ads | The channels you sell on, such as Amazon, Walmart, TikTok Shop and Shopify, under one set of rules |
| Who sets the rules | You describe a workflow in plain language and set guardrails; Amazon builds and runs the assistant | You choose among the settings the vendor offers; the vendor decides what its agent can do and when that changes | Your team: the rules are written into the scope and built as code that can be tested, versioned and reviewed |
| Approval model | You choose recommend-only or act. Amazon says sellers review and approve actions before they are carried out, and every action is logged | Varies. Helium 10 says its MCP executes changes with your approval; Pacvue describes approval-based execution; Jarvio says every ad change is logged for review | Routine actions run within the rules you approve; budget changes, purchase orders and unusual cases come back to your team with the evidence |
| Where it runs | In Seller Central, or in the Amazon Quick or Claude account you connect | On the vendor's platform, and in the AI assistant you connect to the vendor's MCP server where one is offered | On your own accounts and infrastructure |
| Cost basis | Seller Assistant: no additional cost for US sellers, per Amazon in 2025. Quick Plus: free for 12 months if claimed by December 31, 2026; list price $20 per user a month billed annually. A Claude plan is a separate cost | A subscription, often with usage caps: Jarvio Growth $149 per brand a month with 25,000 monthly credits; Helium Agent in Helium 10 Diamond, $359 a month or $279 billed yearly | A build scoped in an architecture doc with a fixed price and go-live date, plus running costs such as hosting and AI model usage; Growth OS license terms on request |
| Who owns the logic | Amazon owns and runs the assistant; your workflows and guardrails live in its tools | The vendor owns the agent; you rent access while you subscribe | You keep your accounts, your data and the custom code we build; the Growth OS base is licensed to you. |
| If you stop | No Seller Assistant subscription to cancel; your workflows and guardrails stay in Amazon's tools | Cancel the subscription; export your data first, on the vendor's terms | Your accounts, data and custom code stay with you; the Growth OS base continues under its license terms. |
| The better choice when | You sell mainly on Amazon, use FBA, and want help with listings, stock and prices without a new bill | You want a working agent this week, your workflows are standard, and the vendor's own data, such as category research or ad benchmarks, is part of the value | You sell on several channels, hold stock at a 3PL or your own warehouse, and want the same rules applied everywhere |
Company and product names identify the companies compared. Trademarks belong to their owners.
Amazon, software vendors and agencies all sell AI agents to Amazon brands now, and most describe the same loop: watch the account, find a problem, propose a fix, act once you approve. This page sorts the options into three kinds (Amazon's own Seller Assistant, subscription agents from software vendors, and custom agents built on your own accounts) and compares them on what actually differs. It is not a ranking of tools. We build custom agents, so we are one of the options; every fact about Amazon and other vendors comes from their own pages, linked and dated, and each section says when another option is the better choice. Our editorial standards explain how we check and correct facts.
What kinds of AI agents can Amazon sellers use in 2026?
There are three kinds. Amazon's own is Seller Assistant inside Seller Central, its new workflows, and the Selling Partner plugin that carries it into Amazon Quick and Claude. SaaS agents live inside a seller-software subscription: Helium Agent in Helium 10, Jarvio, Pacvue Agent for Amazon Ads, or an MCP server such as Intentwise AI Gateway that feeds a vendor's analytics to Claude or Copilot. Custom agents are built for one brand's operation and deployed on its own seller, ad and marketplace accounts. That is what we build, on Ecomsellertool Growth OS. All three are seller-side agents that run operations. Shopping assistants that research and buy for consumers are a different category, covered under agentic commerce.
Approval before action is not what separates them. Amazon says that when a Seller Assistant workflow takes actions, sellers review and approve them before they are carried out. Helium 10 says its MCP connection executes changes to bids and budgets "with your approval", and Pacvue describes "approval-based execution with defined guardrails". Well-built custom agents ask too. The real differences are reach (which channels and systems the agent sees and changes), rules (who writes them and where they live), cost basis and ownership. The fit table above lines those up side by side.
What does Amazon's Seller Assistant do, and what doesn't it do?
In its September 23, 2026 announcement, Amazon said Seller Assistant now remembers each seller's pricing patterns, inventory cycles and growth goals, and gains workflows that monitor conditions and respond even when the seller is not logged in (checked September 25, 2026). Sellers describe a workflow in plain language and set guardrails. For each one, prebuilt or custom, they choose whether it only recommends or also acts, and Amazon logs every action. The Selling Partner plugin brings Seller Assistant into Amazon Quick and Anthropic's Claude; Amazon says it is in beta for sellers in its US stores. In Quick, sellers can build their own pricing, listing or restock agents, and Quick waits for approval before acting.
On price, Amazon is hard to beat. In September 2025 it said Seller Assistant was available to all US sellers at no additional cost (checked September 25, 2026), and the 2026 announcement lists no fee for workflows or the plugin. Every primary account holder can claim 12 months of Quick Plus free through December 31, 2026, plus a free year for two co-workers. AWS lists Quick Plus at $20 per user a month billed annually, or $25 billed monthly, on its Amazon Quick pricing page (checked September 25, 2026). Amazon has not said what happens when the free year ends. A Claude plan is a separate cost set by Anthropic.
The limit is what it can change. The plugin connects your Amazon data (listings, performance metrics, inventory and sales), and Amazon says your assistant can act on your Amazon business the way Seller Assistant does in Seller Central. In Quick or Claude you can put that data next to other connectors, such as accounting or supplier data, but those are separate tools with their own reach. Amazon's public skill files for the plugin cover listings, FBA inbound shipments, stockouts, sales analytics and Seller Support cases, and none of them covers advertising (checked September 25, 2026). Our Seller Assistant plugin explainer goes through each skill and permission.
Off Amazon, the picture is changing fast. A day after the plugin, Amazon announced multichannel selling tools in Seller Central that connect eBay, Shopify, TikTok and Walmart accounts, so sellers can link off-Amazon listings, see every channel's orders in one place and fulfill across channels. Amazon says they are rolling out gradually to US sellers at no additional cost (checked September 25, 2026). Neither announcement says Seller Assistant workflows act on that off-Amazon data, and neither mentions stock at a 3PL or your own warehouse, or an ERP. Our post on Seller Central's multichannel tools covers what they connect today.
When Amazon's tool is the better choice: you sell mainly on Amazon, your stock is in FBA, and you want help with listings, restocking and pricing without a new bill. Its workflows can already watch stock levels and prices continuously, and the plugin lets one person work the account from Quick or Claude. If your other channels ship from FBA stock through Multichannel Fulfillment, the new multichannel tools may cover the order side as well once they reach your account. Start there before you pay anyone, us included.
What do SaaS AI agents offer?
A SaaS agent gives you working software on day one, plus whatever the vendor knows that you do not, such as category-wide research data or advertising benchmarks. The trade-off is that the vendor decides which channels, data and actions the agent covers, and when that changes. The table shows how four vendors describe their agents on their own pages. Prices are list prices, and they change often, so check them again before you buy.
| Product (checked September 25, 2026) | What its own site says it does | Acts, or advises? | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Helium Agent and Helium 10 MCP | An AI assistant inside Helium 10 that answers questions from your live account data ("Helium-assisted. You decide."). The MCP connection works with Claude, GPT, Cursor and custom agents | Agent: mostly answers and recommends; its listing skill "syncs directly to Amazon". MCP: applies campaign changes "with your approval" | Agent included in Diamond, $359 a month or $279 billed yearly, per Helium 10 pricing; MCP included in Diamond up to 1,000 calls, otherwise an add-on from $50 a month |
| Jarvio | "An AI agent that runs the day-to-day operations of your Amazon business": pricing changes, listing edits, inventory orders, customer responses and ad adjustments | Acts. Its site says every ad change is "logged for review" | Growth $149 per brand a month after a 14-day trial, with up to 3 users, 500 SKUs and 25,000 monthly credits; Scale and Infinity are custom-priced (Jarvio pricing) |
| Pacvue Agent | Launched April 14, 2026 for Amazon Ads, used by brand and agency teams inside Pacvue or in Slack, with more retailers planned during 2026 | Acts, with "approval-based execution with defined guardrails" | Not stated in the announcement |
| Intentwise AI Gateway | An MCP server that brings Intentwise analytics into assistants such as Claude and Copilot, across Amazon, Walmart, Criteo, Instacart, TikTok Ads, Google Ads and Meta Ads | Advises: analysis inside your assistant; Intentwise lists execution as a separate product, Intentwise Optimize | Not listed on the page |
Check three things before you subscribe. First, where your data goes: each vendor syncs or reads your data on its own platform, on its own schedule. Second, what the agent can reach: Jarvio lists Seller Central, Vendor Central and Shopify among its integrations, and Pacvue Agent covered Amazon Ads at launch, so confirm every channel you sell on before relying on either for Walmart or TikTok Shop. Third, what it changes without asking: get the list of actions it takes alone and those it holds for approval. If your question is the cost of the whole tool stack rather than one agent, our comparison of a SaaS stack and an owned system prices it line by line.
When a SaaS agent is the better choice: your workflows are standard, you want an agent working this week, or the vendor's own data is part of what you are paying for. A brand that lives on Helium 10's keyword research, or an enterprise ad team already on Pacvue, gets more from the agent inside that tool than from a separate build.
When does a custom agent make sense?
A custom agent earns its cost when your operation no longer fits inside one vendor's product, and when the same decision has to be made the same way on every channel. If two or more of these signs describe your brand, a custom agent is worth scoping:
- Two or more channels sell from one stock pool, such as Amazon plus Walmart, Shopify or TikTok Shop
- Stock sits at a 3PL, prep center or your own warehouse, or you sell kits and multipacks built from components
- Rules such as a margin floor after landed cost, a MAP price or a reorder point per supplier must apply the same way on every channel
- The decisions need data no vendor connects, such as your ERP, supplier emails or a 3PL portal
- You want the logic in code you can read, test and take with you
Ecomsellertool builds these agents on Growth OS, our base system for listings, stock, orders, advertising and reporting. We deploy it on your own seller and ad accounts, connect your other channels through their official APIs and write your rules into each agent. Routine actions can run within the rules you approve. Budget changes, purchase orders and unusual cases can come back to your team with the evidence and a proposed next step. Underneath sits our custom SP-API development work: we have built on Amazon's seller APIs since 2017.
Each agent splits its work between fixed rules and AI models, and each agent page says which is which. In the inventory agent, for example, the reorder point and the rounding to case packs are fixed rules, while the demand forecast and reading supplier emails for changed ship dates use models. Software that only follows rules is automation, not an agent. See the inventory and replenishment agent, the multichannel operations agent and the advertising agent, or browse every AI agent we build and deploy on your own accounts. Our agents are designed to follow Amazon's Agent Policy, and our guide to the Agent Policy lists what to ask any vendor about it.
Revenue, profit, fees, settlement health and today’s actions on one screen
See Growth OS ↗When a custom agent is not the better choice: if you sell on Amazon only, keep stock in FBA and run standard workflows, a build costs more than it returns. Use Amazon's tools, add a subscription if you need its data, and revisit the question when you add a channel or a warehouse.
How do the costs compare?
The three options charge in different ways, so compare the bill over two years, not the monthly sticker. Amazon's free Quick year ends, subscriptions renew, and a custom build is paid mostly up front. The rows below use list prices checked on September 25, 2026 and a team of three people on one brand; your own seat count, brand count and usage change the totals.
| Option | Year one, at list price | Year two onward | What makes the bill grow |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seller Assistant in Seller Central | No additional cost for US sellers, per Amazon's 2025 announcement | No fee announced | Nothing Amazon lists |
| Selling Partner plugin in Amazon Quick, 3 users | $0, if the primary account holder claims Quick Plus by December 31, 2026 and names two co-workers | Not stated by Amazon; at the AWS list price, keeping Quick Plus would be $720 a year billed annually, or $900 billed monthly | More users; a Claude plan instead of Quick is priced by Anthropic |
| Jarvio Growth, one brand | $1,788 at $149 a month, after a 14-day trial | $1,788 | More brands; usage beyond 25,000 monthly credits; the custom-priced Scale plan from $1M in revenue |
| Helium 10 Diamond (includes Helium Agent) | $3,348 billed yearly, or $4,308 billed monthly | The same | A 2% management fee on PPC spend run through Helium 10 Ads; paid add-ons; Enterprise, from $1,499 a month billed annually, beyond $10M in yearly sales |
| Custom agent on Growth OS | A fixed price per agent, set in the architecture doc before work starts | Running costs such as hosting and AI model usage; Growth OS base license terms on request | Each new agent or channel is scoped and priced on its own |
Subscriptions stay cheap while the job matches the product, and they grow with brands, seats, credits or ad spend. A custom build costs more up front, but adding a channel or a rule later is a scoped, priced change to code you already have rather than another subscription. Whichever way you lean, ask each vendor, us included, to itemize the running costs in writing before you sign, and price year two as well as year one.
Who owns the data and the logic?
Three things can be owned: the accounts, the data and the logic that decides what happens. With Amazon, your seller account and its data are already on Amazon, and Amazon runs the assistant. For the multichannel tools, Amazon's announcement says a seller decides which channels to connect and what data to share, can disconnect at any time, and that the data is not shared with other sellers or used to inform Amazon's retail business decisions (checked September 25, 2026). The workflows and guardrails you set up live in Amazon's tools.
With a SaaS agent, the vendor owns the agent and the code behind it. Your data is copied or read on the vendor's platform, and if you cancel, you export what the vendor lets you export. That is a fair trade for software you did not have to build, as long as you know it going in and check the vendor's export options before you connect a live account.
With a custom agent, the logic is code built for you on your own accounts. You keep your accounts, your data and the custom code we build; the Growth OS base is licensed to you. If you stop working with us: Your accounts, data and custom code stay with you; the Growth OS base continues under its license terms (see our license terms page). We never buy your inventory or sell under our own accounts, so you stay the seller on every channel.
How do you choose?
Answer five questions about your operation as it is today, not as you hope it will be in two years. Where most of your answers land is usually the right starting point. The options also combine: many brands will end up with two, using Amazon's tools for Amazon questions and a custom agent for everything that crosses channels, warehouses and systems.
| Question | Points to Amazon's Seller Assistant | Points to a SaaS agent | Points to a custom agent |
|---|---|---|---|
| How many channels share your stock? | Amazon only | Amazon plus the channels one vendor covers | Several channels from one stock pool |
| Where does the data behind your decisions live? | In Seller Central and FBA | In one vendor's tool, such as research or ad data | Across your ERP, 3PL, suppliers and several marketplaces |
| Where should your rules live? | In guardrails inside Amazon's tools | In a vendor's settings | In code your team can read and change |
| How soon do you need it working? | Today | This week | After scoping, on a fixed go-live date |
| What are you willing to pay for? | Nothing extra | A monthly fee per brand or seat | A fixed-price build plus running costs |
If you are unsure where your account loses money, start with the free 24-hour diagnostic: connect Amazon with Login with Amazon, no password shared, and get a report within 24 hours of connecting, on business days. We only read data; we never change listings, prices, stock or ads. Use what it finds to decide which gaps Amazon's own tools can close and which need a custom agent. Or schedule a call, and we will go through your channels and systems with you.
Frequently asked questions
What are the alternatives to Jarvio?
There are three kinds. Amazon's Seller Assistant, which Amazon has offered to US sellers at no additional cost, can act on your Amazon account once you approve each action. Other subscription agents include Helium Agent, included in Helium 10's Diamond plan, and Pacvue Agent for Amazon Ads teams. A custom agent is built for your operation and runs on your own accounts, which matters most when you sell on more than one channel or hold stock outside FBA.
Can Amazon's Seller Assistant and a custom agent work on the same seller account?
Yes. Seller Assistant is built into Seller Central, while a custom agent connects through the Selling Partner API authorization you grant it, and you can disable that authorization in Seller Central at any time. The practical step is to split the jobs so two systems never change the same thing, for example leaving Amazon listing questions to Seller Assistant while the custom agent keeps stock and prices in line across channels.
Can a SaaS agent and a custom agent run side by side?
Often, yes. A common split keeps a research subscription such as Helium 10 for category-wide keyword and sales estimates, which come from the vendor's own data, while a custom agent runs operations across your channels, 3PL and ERP. Decide during scoping which tool owns each action, so the two never make conflicting changes.
What happens to a custom agent if we stop working with Ecomsellertool?
Your accounts, data and custom code stay with you; the Growth OS base continues under its license terms. The agents run on your own accounts, not ours, and we never buy your inventory or sell under our own accounts, so your listings and selling history stay where they are.
Are custom agents designed to follow Amazon's Agent Policy?
Yes, that is how we design them. Each agent works through Amazon's official APIs on accounts you authorize, acts only within the rules you approve, and leaves anything outside those rules to a person on your team. Amazon's Agent Policy covers any software that acts on an Amazon service on someone's behalf, AI or not, so ask every vendor how its agent meets it.
How is a custom agent priced?
Each agent is scoped in an architecture doc with a fixed price and go-live date before work starts. Running costs such as hosting and AI model usage depend on your volume and setup, and the Growth OS base is licensed to you with terms on request. The free 24-hour diagnostic shows which gaps are worth an agent before you commit to anything.
How we research, fact-check and compare: our editorial standards. Spot an error? Email hello@ecomsellertool.com and we will correct it.
